top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Japal

Filmswave Collective CEO: Bracey Black

Art Concept Magazine: Please introduce yourself and tell our readers a little about what you do.

Bray: My name is Bracey Black. Many of my followers know me as Filmswave Bray. I am a 22-year-old director, A&R, published photographer/videographer, and CEO of the Filmswave collective. I grew up in Greenville South Carolina.

ACM: Can you explain what Filmswave is and how it came to be?

BB: Filmswave is a collective comprised of creatives from around the globe. Filmswave started in my high school years. My friends and I were highly involved in sports, and after we all suffered injuries that put a damper on our athletic pursuits, we started Filmswave to express our creativity. We found inspiration from content creators like Viva la Bam, Jackass, and Smosh.

ACM: What do you personally want to achieve through Filmswave?

BB: I want to achieve success and leave my creative mark on the universe.

ACM: How have you grown through running your own media platform?

BB: I’ve cultivated a lot of business and networking skills. I learned the importance of socialization and how personal outreach builds a following.


ACM: How has being a person of color affected the way you move through the media industry?

BB: As a person of color, I am very aware and sensitive to the content I put out. The content I create is not only a reflection of myself, but of my people as well.

ACM: What are the different services you offer through Filmswave?

BB: The Filmswave collective offers artist management, photography, videography, visual direction, clothing and apparel, marketing, event planning, etc.

ACM: What is your personal goal with your own art?

BB: I want to create a legacy that will be respected and remembered for years to come.

ACM: What has been the most challenging part of being a creative, but also running a business?

BB:The most challenging part of being a creative and running a business is not allowing my periods of creative block to slow down or hinder the business from growing. When I go through times of not being motivated as an artist, I make sure to find other ways to keep the business moving.

ACM: What does a normal shoot day look like for you start to finish?

BB: My day is jam-packed. It usually consists of no food, no sleep, and no breaks. Every shoot day is different depending on the artist, location, and more.

ACM: What is your set-up/ what gear do you use?

BB: I always have a Rig, MOV monitor, Cannon Camera, Sony Camera, Laptop, and multiple hard drives.

ACM: What would you like to see change in the photography/videography world?

BB: I want to see more creativity overall. I want to see better editing and better quality photos. I specifically want to see the exploitation of women be erased from photography.

ACM: Does your location or environment influence your work at all?

BB: Absolutely. Different locations call for different vibes and creative direction.

ACM: Where do you see yourself and the FIlmswave brand in one year?

BB: At the top! I want everyone involved in Filmswave to take off. We are the Swave #FreeTheSwav

If you want to keep up with Filmswave check them out here, and follow Bray here!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page