top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Japal

Multimedia Artist Kenya Russell

ACM: Introduce yourself to our readers and tell a little bit about what you do.

Kenya Russell: My name is Kenya Russell and I am a 23 y/o Birmingham native. I am an multi-disciplined artist; I paint, draw, dabble in photography, I’m an overall creative.

ACM: How did you first discover you love for art?

KR: Honestly I was doodling and things like that my whole life, I’ve always been pretty creative too. I first started seriously pursuing art about 2 years ago, and then painting exclusively since last January.

ACM: What do you see is lacking in the POC artist community?

KR: Actual community. From what I’ve seen people are more ready to compete with other artists instead of supporting them. Which can be problematic if we are all trying to develop platforms from nothing. We need like minds to support and provide constructive critiques, not just people with a sole purpose of being the competition.

ACM: You recently started a non-profit, what was the process of that like?

KR: The process was very tedious because it was just me. From formulating the concepts to actually persuading people to give me a chance was a lot of hard work on top of school and a part time job but honestly it was worth it! It has been so rewarding to see the progression of the org and I’m definitely excited to see the progression going forward.


ACM: Is it difficult balancing being both a creator and entrepreneur?

KR: Yes. There are definitely times where I’m working with the nonprofit but wishing I was painting and vice versa. Time management plays a tremendous role in my life now, its something I’m still adjusting to.

ACM: Are there any artists that have influenced the way you make your art or why you make your art?

KR: Definitely. First I’d say my instructor Sky Shineman, she’s just a big influence in regard to her perspective on art in itself. Next i’d say prominent artists like Picasso and Salvador Dali have a pretty big influence on the way that I choose to approach my art. I honestly pull influences and inspiration from many different things so it hard to pinpoint specific people or items that have done that.


ACM: What advice would you give to a creative that wants to make an impact in their creative community but doesn’t know where to start?

KR: Do what you do know and go from there. If you don’t know what to do or where to start simply just do what you feel and find your way, it’s the best way to test theories, best way to connect with people who are pursuing or have pursued similar ventures. Talk to as many people as possible! That’s highly important. Networking and connecting with like minded individuals can definitely take a good idea to great. Don’t feel like you have to have everything figured all the way out, because no one really does. Outline your goals, write down ideas, and try to work on developing those ideas as much as possible. Be consistent! Those are all major keys.

ACM: How does your painting process differ from commissions to work you create on your own?

KR: WELL…. When I’m working for art for myself it is more of a feeling than a task if that makes sense. There’s definitely more pressure to make something perfect for me when working on a commission. You want the customer to feel as though you made every stroke with them in mind, and that mindset can be hard to get into, which is why many artists struggle with commissions versus personal art.

ACM: What are your thoughts, as a painter, on the representation of POC artists in traditional art spaces (galleries, group shows)?

KR: To be completely honest I feel like we are in a new renaissance. The platforms we have available to us make it ideal for creators of all disciplines to showcase their work. Although these platforms are digital, I feel like they are just as important and definitely as influential. In regards to traditional galleries, I feel like POC artists are still under represented, but I feel like there is a new interest and attitude for POC artists to tell their their stories and share their perspectives so i wouldn’t be surprised if there were more spaces dedicated solely to POC artists in the future.

ACM: Can you talk a little bit about your where you find you inspiration for your pieces?

KR: Like I said earlier I definitely pool inspiration from everywhere. It’s usually mostly music and things I find visually attractive and want to recreate. I also do portraits which are pretty random lol. It’s just whatever I like or how I'm feeling really.

ACM: What are your essentials for starting a new painting?

KR: A GOOD PLAYLIST. Music plays a HUGEEEE role in my life, especially my creative life. I usually curate playlists every other day to keep them fresh and interesting. Lol.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page