top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Japal

Will Winnett

Issue 006 featured artist Will Winnett talks about what his influences are and his process of art making



ACM: Can you explain briefly who you are and what you do for our readers?

Will: I am a Birmingham artist. I am currently studying Marketing at UAB. My art mixes 2D digital art with humor and slight references to society.


Will Winnett shot by Rome Denson

ACM: How did you first get into creating art?

Will: From as early as I can remember, honestly. It’s always been a way of manifesting my everyday thoughts and opinions.


ACM: How does living in Birmingham shape your art if it does at all?

Will: It helps me create realistic goals for how I want to make my art known. The people I’ve managed to meet are very motivating when it comes to creating. There are so many great opportunities for me to collab with so many talented local artists, and furthering Birmingham’s production of creatives.


ACM: What is the art community like in Birmingham?

Will: Everyone I’ve met so far are so inspired to make themselves known. It’s a great environment to make things since everyone is literally always producing their ideas. I’m very grateful to be repeatedly finding myself in productive and imaginative spaces.


ACM: Do you feel like the art community is growing in Birmingham? and what do you think it will add to the city?

Will: Totally, I’m just now really getting into it. It’s been growing since I’ve been growing. All throughout my childhood, and especially in high school I would go to all the events Birmingham has to offer artistically. Art Crawls, Art Walks, Etc. Plus all the studio spaces there are! But, they still have SO much growing to do. If we’re the “next ATL”, we have to open up even more.



ACM: There are many events old and new for artists in Birmingham, are there any that you particularly enjoy or are a part of?

Will: Art Crawls and Art Walks have been the mains throughout. Not until later did I get to see more personal type of events. I’ve been lucky to work for both BhamStands and TheMixBirmingham, which are both wonderful organizations focused on bringing out Birmingham’s hidden creatives.


"We act so big when we aren’t is what I mainly see. It’s great to have such a high opinion about here, but understand this place is low on the bar of big and happening city spaces."

ACM: What do you feel like Birmingham lacks, in terms of spaces/opportunities for artists?

Will: We act so big when we aren’t is what I mainly see. It’s great to have such a high opinion about here, but understand this place is low on the bar of big and happening city spaces. This leads to there being no actual foundation for gain. It remains very local, due to Birmingham being in this upcoming phase.



ACM: Why did you decide to start @art.pwop?

Will: Throughout high school I had a lot of encouragement from teachers and friends to develop my talents in art. The whole idea of making my art truly public came my senior year of highschool. I was taking an AP art class, which caused me to completely shift gears when creating my art. I was creating a portfolio, so why not make it public?


". . . my 2D art is my translation of respect I have for the references in my society at the moment."

ACM: What began your interest in the Pop Art style?

Will: I take a lot of interests from the LoFi musicscape and a lil bit of skate culture. They’ve both remained consistent aesthetics in my life. Though I don’t skate, nor am I gifted musically, my 2D art is my translation of respect I have for the references in my society at the moment.


ACM: Can you talk about your inspiration behind your artwork?

Will: I usually try to get a playlist started of what I think a piece will represent for me emotionally and aesthetically at the time. Then I mentally put it into a blender and see what will be translated. This process usually just shifts with the tides of my mood and the mood in my environment at the time.



ACM: Do you have a favorite piece you’ve created so far, what is it?

Will: I really enjoy the pieces I’ve incorporated the Russian language into. Like I said, I kinda put whatever I’m thinking at the moment and mix it all together. This helps me pay homage in a way to where I’m from, but puts a spin on it from the point of view of my current self.


ACM: How do your friends/family inspire you artistically?

Will: Never-ending support at all times. I have to run a piece from beginning to finish to like 4 or 5 people before I ever post/sell something. There would be no execution without the motivation of the people around me.


ACM: Which artists do you feel like you’re influenced by, if any?

Will: I mean, besides the entirety of 90’s Nickelodeon, the ones that stand out to me are for sure:

Rebecca Sugar, Gary Larson, Penelope Gazin, Nick Gazin, Kyle Platts, and Kikillo.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page